![]() |
| This flag is hanging in a Ghanaian's car... how many of you Americans have one in your car? |
Count your Blessings fellow Americans. Wave the flag, go eat some apple pie or a hot-dog, go mow your lawn..or watch a baseball game. Live it up because you are one lucky Son of a.....merican ;) Read the list and feel grateful.
1. NEPA!!!!
You have uninterrupted electricity as long as you pay your bill. YOOO... as I write this...the power just went off. The average Nigerian has to deal with power going on and off ALL DAY...YES ...ALL DAY. This impacts everything. How you store your food, how you travel, how you work.Imagine being at work and all of a sudden there are no lights, imagine being in class and there are no lights...imagine writing an important document and the electric goes out before you can save it... sometimes you just cant charge your phone, sometimes you're just in darkness. Wealthy Nigerians have generators..but generators need fuel...so you have to fuel your car and your generator, that's if you're wealthy. Ghana's Electricity isn't as bad as Nigeria's, but there are periods where they are without power as well. At least they can find out on the radio how long the lights will be out, but its still extremely inconvenient...Imagine your lights going out during the scandal season finale, or during a football game, while you are walking home at night, in a club...wherever ...and all you can do is wait...Yep You're a lucky American
2. The hot shower/ water in general
So in the States we have the hot and cold water spouts in our baths. In West Africa, most people only have one...that means cold water only. It doesn't get very cold in West Africa so people don't really mind the cold shower. But if you are like me, you've taken cold showers only on a few occasions, when your mom didn't pay the gas bill, when you used the showers at the beach to clean off the sand , and last, when you were the last person to shower in the morning and all the hot water was used. "This sucks," you may have thought. Well guess what...you are a privileged American get over it! (I'm also screaming at myself as I write this) How have I got used to cold showers for the two months? You just gotta jump in...Its actually not that bad...I'm somewhat used to it now.The positive is that you wake up immediately. I assure you will not fall back asleep after a cold shower.You know some folks don't even use the shower. In every Nigerian/Ghanaian bathroom that I've been in, there is a set of buckets in the bath tub. There is a bigger bucket (the size of the mop bucket) and a smaller bowl sized bucket. I assume you'd fill the big bucket with water, and you use the smaller bucket to rinse with. Yes some people only need a bucket of water to wash with. How many buckets of water do you think you use in the morning? Speaking of water, we pay our water bill and fairly clean water comes out. This is a luxury.I don't care how much you prefer bottled water. Here most people have to find their own means to get water like wells etc. The water company doesn't just deliver safe water. You are practically on your own...Wave that flag chile....
3. Technical Difficulties
So most people use cell phones here, but its an entirely pay as you go system. Your choice of service is Glo, or MTN and maybe 1 other...that's it. If you want Internet, you pay based on how much data you want to use. No there is no unlimited data for cell phones or WiFi service. Most people refuse to stream so no Netflix, and your YouTube habit will have to end here...cold turkey. Also, most of us don't realize that you can turn your data off on your phone. I for example would breeze through the day checking Facebook, or email or YouTube and not paying attention to my phone's data when I wasn't using it. This is a BIG MISTAKE here. Your phone is using your data even when you aren't using your phone. Every single app, including candy crush, and craigslist, (I don't even have to say Facebook...you know they are watching) is using your overpriced prepaid data. Then apps can use your data to update the material or to sync your accounts etc. ...you have stop your phone from doing that too. Those auto updates have got to go as well...or else. I once brought data in Ghana that my friends said would last for two weeks...it was GONE in 5 hours.... MANNNNN we are so lucky. I've run out of Data so many times, I've lost count. Most of it was wasted on things that I really wasn't aware was happening. One of the things that I miss most in Africa besides my friends and friends and loved ones...is my unlimited DATA plan.....YES I'M A SPOILED AMERICAN.
4. Education
No matter where you live in America, there is free education from kindergarten through high school. Some schools are better than others but you learn the basics. This isnt the case in West Africa. There are some towns that have zero schools. Can you imagine that? Most people who have the means, send their children to private school, because the public school system (if there is one in the area) is substandard. I come from a working class family and was educated in the public school system. It would be extremely difficult for me to get a college education if I never had the option of public school.
5. The Dollar
You think you're broke now...you have no idea. If you take 1 dollar to Ghana, you receive 3.5 Cedis. If you take 1 dollar to Nigeria, you get 165 Naira. What this means is that its three times or 165 times more difficult to pay for your day to day expenses if you are Ghanaian or Nigerian . The economies in these countries are suffering, which means the people are suffering. I drove in a cab for 20 minutes and payed him 3500 Naira, roughly 21 dollars. Imagine if was a Nigerian and I only made 15,000 Naira a month ? Yes I know someone who makes this much. I also know a Ghanaian who works at a fairly good job. She makes about 800 Cedis a month which translates to about $228.00... A MONTH. The struggle is real!
6. Jobs
If you think our unemployment rate is bad, the Nigerian and Ghanaian Unemployment rate is disastrous. Currently we have 6.3% unemployment rate in the U.S, Nigeria's is 29.3%. So the two people above are still lucky compared to all of the unemployed folks. My friends in Ghana and Nigeria spoke to me of all of the College graduates who have no jobs.
7. Government Corruption
So yeah, our government is definitely corrupt. But most of it is done without us knowing (or paying attention to). Nigeria and Ghana's government government officials , according to the citizens are thieves who take country's money and fill their in their own pockets openly. One Ghanaian even went as far to say that the US shouldn't give Ghana anymore money since it never gets to the people. Don't shoot the messenger...no really...
8. Visa
If you are an American, you can most likely get a visa to visit any country (except maybe North Korea, or Cuba or something like that). The world is open to you. I received my Ghana visa in 3 days, I received my Nigerian visa in 4 days. How long do you think it takes a Ghanaian to receive an American visa? What about a Nigerian? Most applicants are denied the visa simply because of suspicions that the person may want to stay longer than the visa permits or try to become a citizen. Some people apply multiple times and pay their money for the application fees but the money is non refundable.
9. Popularity
As an American abroad, you are an instantly seen as interesting. I don't care how boring you are, your favorite hobby could be watching paint dry...Because you are from America, everyone wants to talk to you. I was shocked when one of my students said that I was "so cool", I wanted to hug her and shed a tear. In Ghana, I saw more American flags than Philadelphia...the first city of America. Even those who hate America find interest in you. I rode a bus in Nigeria and a guy was ranting about America ( I could agree with most of his points), then he offered me his food. Everyone is extra nice to you also. Asking if you need anything and praying that you love their country. You could be a crack head in the states. They will treat you like a pop star in Ghana.
10. Mosquitoes
I've talked about this already...you just don't know how lucky you are to have american mosquitoes biting at you and not African ones *scratches leg with about 20 mosquito bites on it* I will not fuss anymore...I will not fuss anymore....
So I complain a lot about America...I will continue. Frederick Douglass said that the best form of patriotism is dissent. But now I know how lucky (and spoiled) I really am. This list could go on forever. Tell me what I've missed....










